Cadbury bunny is sick (Resolved)

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

slj84

Reaction score
Hi all, I'm new here and looking for some help.

I have a 8 year old male neutered dwarf Rabbit named Cadbury. Thursday night he was nibbling on his hay but wasn't his normal perky self. I am a reg vet tech, so I took him into work with me Friday. Side note- we have been on Baytril for the last week because he also got pasturella.

I took some X-rays and it showed he had something in his stomach. We're not sure if it's food from the gi tract not moving or a tumor. He also had large amounts of gas in his belly.

This has been his treatment since Friday morning

*Sq fluids- 50-100ml twice a day
*baytril for his pasturella ( should I be stopping this? It's been rotated between giving it as a intramuscular injections and orally. The vets were not really keen on stopping it because pasturella can also kill him)
* Simethicone twice a day
* belly massages 2-3 times a day
*hot water bottle on his belly for probably a good 6-7 hours a day

He will only eat carrots, craisins. Will not eat his hay or pellets. Also have been giving baby food carrots and bananas several times a day as well.

His belly does gurgle and moan with the massages and heating pads, but it seems like he should be clearing this by now. He is pooping but it is only semi formed mushy stool.

Is there anything else I can do for him. I plan to ask for some meta am for
him tomorrow as during his massages now he seems a bit painful.

Thanks
Sherri

Edit: I also forgot to add that I also ran a stool sample on him since he does go outside on nicer days and he is parasite free.