Bunny nipping

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Snowballbun

Reaction score
Hi all! I'm fairly new to bunnies and I was wondering about a particular behavior-nipping.

My dwarf is very affectionate and licks me sometimes and loves being pet. One day, I was petting him in his cage and he nipped my finger a few times after rubbing his face on me.

From then on, when I'm holding him and petting him, he usually chews on my shirts or pants. I don't know if this is because they are wrinkled and I've read about bunnies "grooming your matted fur." He sometimes licks my pajamas too. His nips have been getting a little harder, like last nite he nipped my leg and it hurt, and today he nipped my arm through my clothes. I firmly told him no. When he nips my clothes, I've been trying to lift his front up and reposition him. He really likes chewing on zippers~!

Why is he doing this behavior and how can I deter him from chewing holes in my clothes?

It sounds like he is grooming you in return for grooming him. However, bunnies sometimes don't realize they're nips hurt our thin skin!

Every time he nips, I'd squeal in a high-pitched "EEK!" (the sound rabbits make when they're in pain), tell him "No!", and then put him on the floor or back into his cage. Don't continue to pet him, because that's rewarding him for nipping. By putting him off your lap, it should communicate to him that nipping is unacceptable behaviour. Eventually, he should stop doing it.

Hope that helps!

Rue

I have the same problem with my rabbit. I, too, am new to owning a rabbit. I have read that making a loud, high pitched noise after being nipped ("Eek" sounds about right) will startle them and make it an unpleasant experience for them. After all, they don't want to hurt you. They're just a little curious and that is how they investigate.