Breeding?

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tom

Reaction score
i'm sure this gets asked a lot but Im new to rabbits really so....

My gilfriend has had rabbits for many years and I was thinking ofgetting a 2nd rabbit to give the one year old ned-dwaf she has atm somecompany. I have been told different things regarding same sex company(its a male) and think that maybe we could try a male / female pair.

I have in the past had a male/ femal gerbil par and they had 36 youngover 3 years with only 1 death. I would guess that iomportant things toconsider would be that the pair were healthy and happy in theirenviroment, but what other important things would we need to cover tomake all things run as smoothly as possible.

I am aware that the pair could be opperated on the stop them having offspring but I would rather let them live a natural life.

any help would be appreciated.

I would highly suggest not getting him agirlfriend as you are not wanting to get either fixed. There is alreadyan over propulation of rabbits and there is absolutely no need tocontribute moreto it. Rabbits multiply fast! One doehad a litter and 4.5 weeks later she had her second, both litters of 9.Thats 18 babies in a month! If you multiply that by the months andyears, you are looking at a very large amount of rabbits. Iwould suggest leaving him as a single rabbit unless you plan on gettinghim, and the doe fixed.