Bonding Question

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Lucy123

Reaction score
Hope this is the right place for this question, let me know if I should repost elsewhere!

I have been bonding my rabbits for about 4 months or so. I have them to the point where they snuggle/groom every now and then but the male Trig likes to go after Lucy still, nipping at her. He likes to bite at her hips if he has the chance. If she turns her back to him, he will def. attempt to bite her, but I am trying to intercept as much as possible. Lucy on the other hand has no problem with Trig, she just wants to snuggle with him now. He snuggles to which is why I'm confused! He is giving Lucymixed signals hehe...

Any advice when the nipping will end, or ways to end it? Iv'e been puting them in a carrier and then on top of the dryer, and also using car rides to bring them closer together. The only reason I do not put them together in one home is because of the nipping.

I would try not intervening unless it turns into an all out, rolling around fight. They can usually deal with little nips and chasing as long as one doesn't seem overly stressed. Sometimes they have to work things out for themselves, so next time, just keep a watch on what's happening but keep a bit of a distance. Maybe try a larger area as well, as sometimes rabbits can get nippy with each other if they feel the other is in their space.

This is what I did for my stubborn pair, and it seemed to work out well! Sometimes they just need time to work out their issues by themselves so they can start trusting each other.

*Edit for spelling