Blood On My Female Saphires Private Spot?

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Carolyn84

Reaction score
:ponder:Hey im really nervouse i was cleaning my Rabbits cage and when i picked up Saphire and cradled her like a baby she normally likes that.I noticed blood on her private spot she was'nt dripping blood it looked like it was stained by it.Im so scared i did'nt get her fixed yet but my male is fixed.Should i be worried?What could it be?She seems to be acting normally and her appetite is really good.Some Help would be great.Thanks

Are you sure it was blood becuase pee can be many different reddy orange colours.
I am not that experienced I hope someone more experienced comes along soon - Good luck

Baby bunnies has a point Is it bright red or is it more orangey red. If its orangey red and stained then good chance its urine if its bright red like when you cut yourself then it would probably be best to get her to the vets.

Hopefully one of the infirmary mods will be along and give you their advice

Well, if she is not fixed and she is acting fine, she probely just got her period. yes rabbits can get periods. I have a female rabbit and she get hers to. Its also normal if they get a bit cranky. kind of like when some girls get their periods. they get cranky and somtimes mood swings. :rant:. Hope this helped!

[align=center]Madeline:bunnydance:[/align]

Rabbits DO NOT have periods. They do not have an estrius cycle like most mammals, they are what are called enduced ovulaotors. They only ovulate once they've been mounted by a male and the act of sex triggers the female to release her eggs.

If you have a rabbit that is bleeding from their genitals, and you are positive it is not red/orange urine, then it is a serious problem. It can be a sign of bladder/kidney infections or worse it is also a sign of uturing cancer/infections.