Amy has E.cuniculi !!!! Headtilt!!

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mummel

Reaction score
My baby bunny Amy has a headtilt. just discovered it a couple of hours ago. The Dr. said shes bad and wanted to euthanize her.

I didnt agree because she has no problems eating and walking yet.

She got a couple of shots but no Antibiotics so far. I will go back tommorrow at 10 maybe I get medication then.

First I was thinking its just an ear infection since one ear suddenly started sticking up..

Im so scared she might die. Shes the sweetest little bunny I know.:(

Does anyone know more about that sickness and how good the chances are for healing?

Amy2-1.jpg
Amy1.jpg

Youmayhavecaughtit early enough. From the pictures, it seems her head isn't tilted atall, so it might be in it's early stages? I'm not experienced with headtilt or e.cuniculi so someone else can probably help you with this. Ifshe's eating and drinking and moving around fine, I think there wouldbe no reason to put her down. If she's eating, she probably isn't intoo much pain! Is it possiblt to get a second opinion from a differentvet? Head tilt and e. cuniculi can be treated and rabbits do pullthrough, so hopefully she can recover from this.

Sweet Amy, good thoughts being sent your way!

:pray:

Also, have you read the rabbit health reference about head tile and e. cuniculi?

http://rabbitsonline.net/view_topic.php?id=11840&forum_id=10

http://rabbitsonline.net/view_topic.php?id=14471&forum_id=10

I hope she gets better soon :(.

Spring wrote:
Youmayhavecaught it earlyenough. From the pictures, it seems her head isn't tilted at all
Thank you for the links but her head is fine on the pics. That was just to show how she developed a sticking up ear..

Her head looks upside down..if i wouldnt know better i would think her neck is broken.