A very skiny rabbit

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Dribbles

Reaction score
Hi i have just in the last few days realisedthat Honey is realy under weight, as you stroke her back you can feelthe ripples between each bone on her spine, I have just realised thatnibbles is taking food away from Honey to eat. I seperated them justnow for their food but am worried as she is realy skinnt she might notmake it through winter. Can anyone help asap

I'm no expert but if the cause of her beingunderweight is the other bun stealing all the food then she will gainback fairly fast now that she is seperated.. If you notice she is notthen there might be something else wrong. If it was my bunnie i wouldgive her free fed pellets and all the hay she can eat.

A healthy weightgain would be doneover time, not tohave Honey back toher ideal weight asfast as possible. Herregular meal is a goodbasis. As long as sheis eating and isactive, and not deprivedof her food sheshould be fine.

Like Jil101ca says freehay, butpellets (I wouldstill measure) are a start.

For winter, I would add a fewblack sunflower seeds to hermeal, as it is a hotfood and is fatting.

Rainbows! :)

When Miffy was underweight we supplemented herfeeding with Oxbow Critical Care for Convalescing Herbivores mix. It isa dry, high fibre mix that you add to some water to make a paste,bunnies can eat it from a bowl, or it can be syringe fed with a largeholes syringe. We also fed her plain, rolled oats (Scot's porridgeoats) that helped her gain weight too.

Take your bun to the vet though. There may be an internal reason she isnot maintaining weight - liver function, teeth etc. should all bechecked out.

Good luck..

mummybunny x