8 weeks old bunny: What to feed?

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

haven711

Reaction score
Hi, all! I'm new to this form, but this is my second bunny. I didn't know well, so I didn't feed my first bunny right. This time I don't want to make same mistake again. He's 8 weeks old now. We got him from a local breeder and also got some pellets from the breeder too. Yesterday, I read a lot of threads about pellets, but I couldn't find solid answers, so I'm posting thisto confirm. If you know any good threads, please feel free to post here. I'll check them out. My concern is he's so young, so I want to help him growing up healthy.

These are my questions:

- I read young bunnies needs protein and calcium, so Alfalfa based pellets are recommended. Is that true? If so, which brand is most popular and common?

- Oxbox Bunny Basic T looked like a most popular pellet in this forum.I went to Petsmart yesterday to check it out, but didn't get it becuase it was Timothy based pellet and said 'For Adult Bunnies.' Is it okay to feed this to my bunny?

- I'm giving him a small portion of pellets that we got from the breeder and Timothy hay for now. Is that okay? I know bunnies should have unlimited hay, but I was wondering how much pellets to give and if Timothy hay is okay for him right now.

- How should I change his diet as he gets old?

- I was thinking about buyingpellets from the breeder since he's been raising bunnies for years. He's a nice guy, so I think I should be able to buy some from him.

I listened to a local vet when I had my first bunny, but I've learned that many things thathe told me were NOT right. Anyway, please help this new member. Thanks!!!

P.S.: I'll post pics and info to the Introduction forum soon.