3 Week Old Kit Failure to Thrive

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tuptup2023

Reaction score
Hello everyone!
I don’t really know how to approach this situation since this is my first time with baby bunnies.

My lionhead doe mated with my lionhead buck and they had a litter of 6 kits. When they were born, all the kits looked normal and around the same size. They remained the same size up until a week ago when one of them was clearly malnourished. I’ve been feeding it KMR since (advise of vet) but it seems to remain the same size and never gain weight. I did try to have private feedings with mom but the baby won’t suckle. When it walks, it falls over and usually ends up rolling onto its back unable to get up. It almost looks like he has splayed legs but then when it hunches, it can “drag” its body around its nest with its upper body. Generally, it moves around a lot so it has a lot of energy but it just seems like a failure to thrive…even its fur looks different and it has sparse hair on its neck and upper chest.
Any advise or recommendations would be appreciated!

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    2 MB · Views: 0
  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    2 MB · Views: 0
Here are some videos.

Attachments

• 70889326329__1632A65D-798D-432C-995B-C07F058B98D0.MOV
    1.3 MB
  • 70889330748__D11B7691-E732-47E0-8A20-E1A7AFB71E93.MOV
    1.6 MB
It could have a genetic problem, or it could be a milk allergy, or an internal parasite issue. It's really just a guessing game at that young of an age. I would continue to hand feed it. If you think it could be a milk allergy, there's always trying a different milk formula.