#2 behavior in a run

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

aimlessego

Reaction score
Newbie here getting ready to start a rabbit colony. I'm in process of setting up the run.
I want to make tunnels and burrows using rubber maid totes and pcv pipe and place under dirt to make it more natural...
My question is about rabbit #2 behavior.
Will they go to the bathroom inside? Or come out to their certain spots?
Would like to I know so I can keep area clean! TIA!

This is your first post, so I am trying to understand what you are trying to accomplish. It sounds like you have 2 rabbits and intend to just let them breed so that you have a whole "colony."

If this is your intention, then there is much you should know beforehand. Assuming that the two rabbits you have will (or will continue to) get along and are actually old enough to breed safely, the phrase "breed like rabbits" exists for a reason. Being conservative and considering the breeding rate, two rabbits, with their babies, could easily produce almost 1400 rabbits by the end of the second year. That number would then jump exponentially by the end of year 3 to over 50 thousand rabbits!
Here's the math:
http://www.bio.miami.edu/hare/scary.html

But the other consideration is that rabbits don't naturally get along. Once those hormones activate, any or all of the rabbits can begin fighting. Rabbit fights can not only be vicious, but even deadly.

Without understanding your goal or your intended set-up, it's difficult to answer. Many of us here on RO have indoor pet rabbits that are fixed. There are some breeders on here that breed for the purpose of improving a particular breed. Others have some outdoor set-ups too.

Rabbits do litter train pretty easily, so most of us use a litter box for our rabbits.