New Rabbit, New to Rabbits Online

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

NDarling23

Reaction score
Hello All!!
I am new to rabbits online and bunny motherhood and could really use some advice! I took in a 1 1/2 year old Netherland Dwarf who I have named Penelope. It obvious that she was never really groomed or taken care of so her nails are ridiculously long. How would I go about safely clipping her nails (which are black) without hitting the quick.

Also, she seems incredibly shy and doesn't want to leave her cage (store bought. Will be building her a NIC cage this month) when I try to let her explore the room she hops right back in the cage. I have left her all sorts of fresh veggies and toys doesn't seem to want to try any of them. Is this normal? I've only had her for 3 days so I'm guessing she may need to acclimate. She is perfectly heathy and pretty darn cuddly. So in love already. ImageUploadedByRabbit Forum1407365960.741581.jpgView attachment 11741

Attachments

• ImageUploadedByRabbit Forum1407366022.260429.jpg
    ImageUploadedByRabbit Forum1407366022.260429.jpg
    41.3 KB · Views: 101
Here's a link to a video that I found very helpful in learning how to trim my rabbit's nails:

http://rabbit.org/how-to-trim-your-rabbits-nails/

If you've only had her three days, she is definitely still getting used to her new home and that's why she prefers her cage. Does she have a hidey box to go in to? Rabbits like to hide when they're scared. I've had my rabbits a year now and they just keep getting more and more comfortable with us as time goes by.

Shining a light behind the nail can help to identify where the quick is. It may be easier for this first trim, to take her to the vet to have it done. Often they will do it for less than $15 and no exam fee charged(you'll have to check of course).