weaning babies

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kookookachoo221

Reaction score
I havea few ?'s about weaning baby bunnies. I am knew at breedingbunnies and dont know much about when and how to wean a bunny. If youwould beable to provide any information, that would begreat!!!

kookookachoo

kookookachoo221 wrote:
I have a few ?'sabout weaning baby bunnies. I am knew at breeding bunnies anddont know much about when and how to wean a bunny. If you would beableto provide any information, that would be great!!!

kookookachoo
I'm pretty new to breeding aswell, but through reserch I've read that kits can be weaned from 6 to 8weeks old. If it's a large litter (over four) you might consider takingtwo babies the first day then one baby a day until theyre all weaned.This is supposed to ease the transition for the mother. Ifyou take them all at once she'll still produce milk with no where forit to go and that's uncomfortable for her. Personally I'd wean themgradually at 8 weeks. It's supposed to be better for the mama and babythat way. Hope this helps.

Lanna

Thank you, that did help! Also, when the babybuns are born do you have to take out the babies or will the mom try tohurt them or something. Because I read that the dad cant be in the cagebut is that the same with the mom?

kookookachoo

kookookachoo221 wrote:
Thank you, that did help! Also, when the baby buns are borndo you have to take out the babies or will the mom try to hurt them orsomething. Because I read that the dad cant be in the cage but is thatthe same with the mom?

kookookachoo