Slightly complicated genetics question

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

NZminilops

Reaction score
Ok, out of interest I have been learning thebasics of rabbit genetics. I don't know too much, so I came on here fora bit of help.

From reading about seal and siamese sable, they seem to have the samedescription, but seal is darker - right? I don't even know if we haveseal in New Zealand, i think it's refered to as dark sable.

There is one rabbit in particlar I am studying, he's not my rabbit but I am looking at him.

He is listed as a sable (or siamese sable to you guys). Family tree goes:

Parents: dark sable + dark sable
Grandparents: medium sable + sable point, broken smoke pearl + seal point

I can give great grandparents also. Is it possible to get a sable andnot a seal from what I have listed? Given those colours, can you get asable from that at all? The other colours in his lines were a lot moresables, sable points and a broken blue.

I'm interested to know if he is indeed sable/siamese sable, as he seems to be quite dark.

if I got this right (please correct me if it'swrong), one parent is aaBBcchlcchlDdEE and the other isaaBBcchlcchlD_ee? That would make seal and smoke pearl and blue seal?Can someone fill in the gap?

Edited to add a picture.

Shaded genetics can be comples. Youcan get sables from seals, but the more desired phenotype is generallyheterozygous shaded for sables. Dilute "dd"would besmoke pearl. A sable that is "ee" is sable point. Acchl dd ee is a blue point.

I have photos on my site under the Coat Colors of the Domestic Rabbit link

http://www.geocities.com/pamnock/

Pam

While Pam is on this topic....

I bred what the breeder called a "dark siamese sable" (but it doesn'tlook like a seal and this breeder is known for culling seals)...to asable point.

I got two sable points...and what I think is a seal.