Show Rabbit Nutrition Write Up

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

GoinBackToCali

Reaction score
Thought I would throw in my 2 cents, might be beneficial to somebody else.

For my show rabbits...

In the morning they get

1/4 cup crimped oats/barley 50/50 conditioning mix with black oil sunflower seeds

(My conditioning mix is contains 50% crimped oats + 50% crimped barley + 7-10 sunflower seeds per cup. however, you start off feeding 1/4 cup for 4 bunnies then over 7 days work up to 1/4 a cup each.)

1 tablespoon Doc's Rabbit Enhancer

(1 tablespoon for 4 buns then over a week work up to a tablespoon each)

Some people give a teaspoon of pure calf manna to their buns, I do not because I feed Petrus 700 B with Calf Manna.

Personally, I haven't been doing show rabbits long, on my own anyway, I have been doing them for about 5 years (showing other peoples for them), on my own, a little over a year, and since I have been doing things this way, the only way I have been beat, seriously, is if I am up against New Zealand's, and the judge just happens to be a New Zealand Lover. I show exclusively Cali's. Even then, the few times that has happened, all my Cali buns have taken the first places occupied by something OTHER than a NZ. In EVERY instance, the judge has made a huge deal about their coats, the sheen and softness.

Mine also get a 4 way acid pack in their water, which is slam full of vitamins and electrolytes. It is essential for babies and nursing mothers, I wouldn't be without it.