Seeking kindling advice...

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bluebird3

Reaction score
I am new to this board (and think it is WONDERFUL!!) I appreciate any advice that I can get!

A little history:

I have a NZW doe that has kindled one litter before.....on day 35. She had one GIANT, GIANT dead kit and one very hairy kit, alive. The hairy kit was fostered off to another doe, but died after 5 days (I am betting that it had an infection, as the "sibling" kit thatwas already dead at birth was not in the best condition *trying not to be too graphic, here*).

Anyways, I was told to re-breed this doe and that her second litter should be successful. SO....she was re-bred. I am NOT good at palpating (as I am very new to rabbits), but I do think that I feel "something" there.....(also, she has developed quite a large abdomen in the past week). Today is day 33 and still nothing!

So....here are my questions. Do I just sit back and wait? Is there something that I can do to "spur" on labor? Help, Help, Help!!!! I am SO crossing my fingers that we have a successful litter, but I am worried that the same thing that happened last time is about to happen again. Any input would be much appreciated! THANK YOU!!!

I think a lot of the Rabbitry mods and other breedersareat shows this weekend, but hang tough, I'm sure a response will be forthcoming shortly!

Hope she's okay!

Meanwhile, here's a thread that might come in handy.

http://rabbitsonline.net/view_topic.php?id=5604&forum_id

sas :)and gang :bunnydance::bunnydance::bunnydance::bunnydance::bunnydance:

You can take her to the vet where they will make sure that she is indeed pregnant and will give her a shot of oxytocin which induces labor. When you rebred her, did you use the same buck?

Sharon