Need Help! Doe losing weight!

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

gentle giants

Reaction score
One of my older mini rex does is suddenly losing weight, and acting sort of sluggish. She doesn't have any wet nose, sneezing, any thing like that. I noticed her butt looks wet, like mabye she isn't cleaning herself? Her appetitie is good, she eats everything I give her, no problem. I have made an appointment for her for tomorow am, what questions should I be asking the vet?

Forgot to add, it seems like her water intake is slightly less than usual. I had put it down to the weather cooling off, but now I think that was wrong.

How old is she? and how long since she was bred the last time and kindled the last time?

I think those are going to be important to answer first. Also what does she eat.

I am not good with diagnosis of this sort but I know that those pieces of information can help in doing so.

Good luck :pray:

Had to look up her pedigree to find her age...She's not as old as I was thinking, she is a little over two years. It's probably been a year since she had a litter, I have stopped breeding and just hadn't gotten her spayed yet, with all the rescues needing to be done too.

Feed is the Rural King brand of pellets, and grass hay. The hay hasn't been every day here lately, but that is what I give them. Far as I see, her poops seem to be normal.

Can you see what her urine looks like? Or put a tray under her cage to catch it? If her rear is wet I'd be worried about bladder infections, maybe kidney problems. Or arthritis, if she has trouble reaching her rear. Does she move about ok? :pray:

I'm not sure about the movement, she didn't really want to move around much. I can put a tray under her cage and see about checking her urine, what should I be looking for?