Mariah is a good deal underweight.

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Alexah

Reaction score
Mariah is my approximately 2-year old english spot foster. English spots are a breed I have very little experience with and I've noticed that she seems underweight to me. Before coming to me a week ago, she was seen by the vet and was proclaimed healthy though a bit underweight from where she should be ideally. She was taken from a neglectful situation and she isn't accustomed to having food on a regular basis.

She is getting about 1/2 cup of a timothy/alfalfa blend pellet daily along with unlimited hay, 1-2 cups fresh veggies, and daily treats of either fresh or dried fruit. She eats everything I give her, but she doesn't seem to be gaining weight. And, unfortunately, she wants nothing to do with oats when they're just plain.

However, last night I had some leftover pellet/oat slurry from when I gave some to the babies. They didn't want anything to do with the slurry and I didn't want to throw it out so I gave some to Mariah thinking that she'd eat it. And she gulped it down and then even looked for some more. So, since I'm making the slurry for the babies, would it hurt to give some to Mariah at night to help put some weight on her?

I hope so because I don't want to have waste and I don't want Mariah to be underweight...so maybe this will kill two birds with one stone (so to speak)?

1/2 cup of pellets seems like a good amount along with the extra slurry at night. I would think you couldincr the veggies too to balance out the amount.

She's only been with you for a week, how can you tell whether or not she's gaining much weight? Even with a proper scale, it's too soon to see real changes. Healthy weight gain is slow because it's a build-up of muscles as well as a small amount of fat. Fast weight gain is pure fat.