Just a small query.

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Kez-bunniemom

Reaction score
Hey :) I'm new so will write a little about myself.
I have 3 fully grown dwarf lop rabbits- Honey (The mom) Bob (Dad) and Cadbury (Daughter). I live in Scotland, St andrews to be precise and my rabbits live outside in my heated summerhouse. I also breed birds: Canarys, Budgie, Finches and Java sparrows.
I am relatively new to breeding rabbits but have had 4 successful litters over the past year and a half.
I breed mainly for pleasure- i just love looking after the bunnies and my local pet shop buys from me so rehoming is not a problem. (I have considered this pet shop very hard and have noticed that they are exeptional at vetting potential customers)

The dad- Bob- is a beautiful black and white spotted lop and his 'wife' Honey is a grey but with a fawn pedigree background.
The two of them produce adorable mixtures of fawn spotted, grey spotted and black spotted with the odd solid grey and black.

Anyway, i could talk about them all for ages but will get to the point:
I would love to start breeding from more than just Honey but the only other female i have is Cadbury who is Bob's daughter. Will the fact that Bob is her dad interfere with future bunnie genetics? I have read horror storys of mutations becuase of family inbreeding and would like to hear what other have to say on the subject.

:hello And : welcome to the forum!

Take some time to look through the forum, there's lots of info here that is sure to help you ;)

In the mean time, this thread Do you line breed? (it's linked for you) basically covers your question along with some great explanations as well as what to expect from certain crosses.

We're here to help you with any questions you may have.

~Sunshine