first time breeder question

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jil101ca

Reaction score
Hi everyone, I am a new rabbit owner living in Northbay, Ont.I have done extensive research over the last few months and am raising rabbits for our own use. I have a large black buck breed unknown and aorange? flemish doe. Anyway, my question is... when I put the doe in with the buck she races around the cage with him chasing her. I have been over all my info and have found nothing on this. ThepersonI bought her from said she was 8 mths old but she seems a little small to me. Could it be she is younger than that and not ready to breed to yet.They did not breed asI was afraid that one of them could be hurt soI removed her from the cage.

Hi! Everyone welcomes someone who's done research! This is a multi-purpose board, so you shouldn't have a problem.

I'm no expert, but it sounds like she's not ready to mate. Sometimes it takes up to 9 months for the larger breeds for breeding. Again, someone can chirp in and correct me, but maybe wait a month or so and try breeding her again? Also, if you feel she's a bit on the small side, you can always wait for a bit. You could also try breeding her in a couple ofdays to see if she takes.

Is the doe bigger than the buck?

Welcome to the forum! :)

Due to the possibility of injury, I don't let the does run the cage -- I supervise to prevent injuries and stop the doe from running by placing my hand over her head. If she is receptive, she'll lift her tail. If not -- she'll tuck her tail down.

The appearance of the vulva can also indicate receptiveness to breeding. Pale and dry = not receptive. Dark purple = past receptive period. Pink and moist = receptive.