EMERGANCY!!!!

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Stephanie

Reaction score
We were clipping Valuran's claws today and allwas going well, until he kicked when I was clipping his back claw. Itbegan to bleed, not profusely, but enough.

I applied a cold, wet paper towel to stop the flow of blood. Sofar, it has stopped bleeding but you can still see where it'sred.

What else can I do??? I'm really freaking out, my hands are shaking and everything.

I feel horrible!!! I've been clipping claws for over seven years nowwith never a problem. Only the past six months or so on rabbits, butI've been doing my cat's for that long and felt I had experience.

I've done that a number of times and feltterrible about it :( It will be fine -- you don'tneed to do anything more. Just check it daily to be certainit's healing fine.

Pam

If the blood is coming from the nail, you can use baby powder to slowdown the bleeding. Some people use a styptic powder, usually purchasedin pet stores for such occasions.

I know you feel horrible, Stephanie. Try not to beat yourself up. The blood flow often times seems worse than what it is.

-Carolyn

I've never tried this,but some people say that spider webs put on the wound stop the bleeding.

Pam

Carolyn is right about the bleeding looking worse than it really is --I've never heard of a rabbit bleeding to death from a cut toenail(unless the rabbit has hemophilia).

How wierd is that? Exactly the same thinghappened to me this morning when I was doing Perry's back claws. Hisbled a bit, and he was really huffed with me, but all is OK now. I havebegged his forgiveness and told him how sorry I was, and he has let mepet him, so I think we are OK ;).

Pam, that is very interesting about a spider web, though knowing my twothey would probably eatit:p- Jan

Ok, thanks guys. I was really freaking out (obviously).