DELIVERY GONE WRONG

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dutchbunnylover

Reaction score
Hello---I am new to this site. I am hoping someone can help me understand what is happening with my doe. I have been breeding for 12 years and never had this happen to me before.
I have a doe that is 2 years old. She has had 4 litters and is a wonderful caring mother.
She delivered on time. Had her nest box with bedding she was used to. She had 12 kits.......they all died within two days. (four were still born) She didn't feed or pull any hair. On the third day she delivered one more. It was also dead.
I really don't understand what happened. She didn't seem ill in any way. She ate and drank good through her whole pregnency. She seems very stressed right now and right fully so. She is used to large litters so I know that isn't it.
I am attaching a picture of one of her kits from her last litter. You can see what she has always raised.
If anyone has ever had this happen or know anything about what may have gone wrong with this dear bunny PLEASE contact me. Thank you,Mary

:hello:welcome1
  • How has the weather been lately?
  • When was her last successfull litter kindled?
  • Has their been any disruptions / new smells / anything out of sorts or out of place in the Rabbitry?
  • Have you switched feeds recently?
  • Did you use a new buck?
  • Has she ever successfully kindled by this buck before?
  • Have you checked her water supply? Good flow?
  • Could she possibly have a retained kit from a previous litter?
  • Uterine infection?
I could go on & on with more questions and possibilities. I'll give you time for these first and maybe someone else will want to chime in.

I'm sorry for your lost litter.

~Sunshine