Behavior of 5 month old Male when shown the new "addition"

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bunbunbinkie

Reaction score
Merlin's new friend came home today... a 4 month old Dutchie doe named Marina. She could care less about him, but he seemed interested in her.

Neither one of them are fixed, but they both will be. They are NOT being housed together, allowed out together, none of that. I do NOT want/plan to breed them for any reason ever. Merlin has an appointment to be neutered next week, and I do plan on spaying Marina once she settles in a bit. I have her set up in Merlin's old cage and have it 8 inches or so away from his condo. It has a plastic dish like botom that is solid about 7 inches up, and then the cage wire starts.

So I am a bit confused as to his behavior, it is probably completely normal and expected but Im new at this bonding/having two bunnies thing. Here is what went down today when they "met":

When I let him out, he went over to her and sat just outside of her cage and watched her for a moment. He did a quick circle around the side and then did a HUGE dead bunny flop right next to the side of the cage where she was sitting. (There is solid plastic around the bottom, about 8-9 inches up, then the cage part starts.) He popped back up and did it again a few more times.Marina casualy sniffed at Merlin and he lunged at her, growling and scratching out with his front feet. Since then he has carried on his usual attitude, playing in my room and will only stop by to sort of say "hi" and then he's off again.

What does this mean? I know he's going to be "hormonaly driven" and act like he's interested, even for a while after his neuter and I know to keep him away from her for a couple weeks (and in that time I plan to have her spayed).