7 Wk old bunny with eye problems

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Not my rabbit. When I was looking into getting a rabbit (which i did get one from a friend's store after I talked with her about the breeder she buys from), I emailed some local breeders. Got a reply back from one that she has a baby with eye problems. Hasn't been to a vet. Is being treated with medicine FROM her vet though. Ever since the buns eyes opened, it's 7 wks, they've been weepy etc. So can't see 100%. None of the other rabbits with it have this. She sells to pet stores and it's going to go to a store with a group of babies unless I , or someone else, wants it.

I don't see the outlook being so bright for a bun with problems, am I wrong?

What would you do?

No pictures ( I'm an ex vet tech. and would love to see close up of the eyes) but she's not too far away, less than an hour, and said I should just come look at it.

If you do have the money to spend on a sick bunny and am interested insaving it go ahead and take it but the rabbit definitely should not be taken to a pet store with the other bunnies. Sounds like a good idea to go look at it, find out as much as you can and then think about it for a little while. Taking a sick bun would be a noble thing to do but it also may end up expensive and sad.

That is why I'm trying to line up local bunny rescues in the event it is more than I can take on permantly. Any ideas for Central TX? Have contacted 2, one has replied and I think will help if need be.

I mean possibilities are endless without them being able to give me much detail. I'm assuming it's BOTH eyes. Should have asked. But, seeing it does far more than talking about it. Could be something simple, could be something requiring surgery.