On going abscess

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Maryplb

Reaction score
My bunny Peter is 7 and I rescued him last year, when he came to me he had many abscesses. I was able to rid him of them with an oral antibiotic. This year he got one on his cheek and I've been treating it with orbax for 2 months. It wouldn't go away just decrease in size. I have started him on bicillin injections under the skin, for a week I was giving it every other day. This week I'm giving it everyday bc I have yet to see a difference. My vet isn't much help bc he doesn't think rabbits can take penicillin. I did the research and he got me what I asked for.
I am hoping someone out there can help me. Peter is 4.5 lbs and I'm giving him daily shots of .07 cc bicillin. I have not noticed any change in his abscess and surgery is not an option. He feels fine, eating and hopping around. He has a lot of life in him and I'm not ready to give up. I just need to know if it takes time for the meds to kick in or is there anything else I can try.

"A growing number of U.S. veterinarians are finding great success using a combination of Penicillin G Procaine and Penicillin G Benzathine for treating rabbit abscesses. It was not only helpful in shrinking abscesses, but in many cases, eradicated it leaving no infection. I found more stories of bunny owners using this form of treatment. However, I MUST CAUTION you that this treatment is administered as an injection only and NOT given orally. This combination of penicillin cocktail is known as bicillin and is injected every 48 hours. Another penicillin treatment is to inject Penicillin G Procaine every 24 hours."

My rabbit had injections of penicillin and did fine. Maybe you could find a more experienced rabbit savvy vet in your area? I don't have experience with abscesses but I've heard they have a high probability of coming back.