Trainee Vet Super Ego

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Kizza

Reaction score
So, I got my little bunny Gidget out last night for some cuddles on the lounge before I went to bed, and as usual he poops all over me lol

To my surprise there were a few little wriggly worms in there! Poor little guy.

So I get up this morning and call my normal vet's office and a trainee vet picks up the phone. I said that I needed to bring Gidget in as he has worms. What does she say to me? "Oh, rabbits don't really get worms, its very unusual. Yeah, it's not something that they get, it couldn't be worms."

I just said it is definitely worms, Rocky has had them before and they are definitely wriggling. So can I just make an appointment? What does she say then? "Well, I just did a course on rabbits as I am a trainee vet and they dont get them, it is very uncommon."

Grrr I was so angry! What doesn't she understand about they are wriggling around in his freshly laid poop? I just thought I would have a little vent, I will also be having a word to my vet about what she said. She was quite rude :mad:

I will bring some wriggly worm poop in for her so she can have a look.

People who don't know what they don't know are a problem.

I assume the worms came from being in contact with an area where there are wild rabbits around. I hope you can keep this from happening again by sprinkling the area frequently with food-grade diatomaceous earth.

So did you get an appointment? If you did, what meds did you get?

I ask because my rescues whether they were indoors or outdoors come with worms. It's a common occurrence here.

I would make an appointment with the NON-trainee vet and make sure that that vet teaches the Trainee vet about rabbits. :p

Nela wrote:
I would make an appointment with the NON-trainee vet and make sure that that vet teaches the Trainee vet about rabbits. :p