Started bonding, don't think it's going well

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

KimandCocoa

Reaction score
I have never tried to bond bunnies before and I am totally new at this. I did break one of the rules I read about - having them in a neutral space. I hope that didn't mess anything up! I have had Daisy and Cocoa's cages next to each other for a couple weeks now, so the other day I let them both out in the playpen area outside of their cages. Usually just Daisy is in the playpen because Cocoa never seems to want to come out.

Here is what happened:
I sat in the playpen too in case they tried to fight. I opened Cocoa's cage and he came out - immediately mounted Daisy's head! Daisy got scared and ran into her cage. (I left both of their cages open so they could go into a safe spot if needed.) I felt like Daisy was scared of Cocoa. Later she came back out and it kept looking like she was running away from Cocoa. Also, Cocoa went into her cage, which I knew that was probably not good, but he did it a couple of times. The bonding session was about 20 minutes or so.

I feel bad now because I think I did things the wrong way.:( I wanted to introduce them in a neutral territory, but I felt like they already know each other from being "neighbors" and also it can be very hard to get Cocoa out of his cage sometimes. Should I continue the bonding sessions in the playpen? Do you think Daisy is now scared of Cocoa because he mounted her right away?

Daisy might forgive the offense. You won't know unless you try :) Cocoa was doing what buns do when they are let loose in other buns' territory. They go in there and try to tell the original bun that this is "my land". Neutral territory is a very important piece of early bonding.