Should I have two bunnies?

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Phatoomch

Reaction score
Hello *waves* Newbie here :D

My friend rescued bunnies at the weekend and *shocker* an unexpected birth happened today. It appears that only 1 baby was born (she doesn't want to poke around too much) and I will be the baby's new mommy :biggrin:

My question is this: do I need to get a second bunny? I read somewhere that bunnies are very chatty and like company and therefore better in pairs. Is this correct?

The breed is a Netherland Dwarf.

You do not need a second bunny. Your rabbit may nominate you his/her new bondmate. Some buns don't even seem to like other buns. That said, watching buns interact with eachother is really rewarding, and I'm sure many people would agree with me that rabbits are a bit like potato chips.

Thank you missyscove

Ok, so its not necessary ... trouble is I do worry s/he will get lonely not having someone else that speaks the same language. Also do they not get lonely being in the hutch on their own for the times I can't always be there?

I worry about animals so I want to get it right :)

Phatoomch wrote:
Ok, so its not necessary ... trouble is I do worry s/he will get lonely not having someone else that speaks the same language. Also do they not get lonely being in the hutch on their own for the times I can't always be there?
Thats what lots and lots and lots of toys are for! You can even get them a stuffed bunny toy to keep them company.

They can have just as much fun on their own tearing around the house cuddling with you, destroying their toys, cuddling up to a stuffie, as they could have with another bunny :)

Plus you can always turn the radio on when you're not at home. They spend most of their time eating anyway :rollseyes