Preventing another litter and more deaths:

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Eyssa

Reaction score
Yesterday, we happened to find two dead baby rabbits in one of our two rabbit hutches. Problem is, ALL three of the rabbits were supposed to be girls, so apparently the vet made a mistake and misgendered one of them. I know for sure that Spice is indeed a female, because I watched her nurse her litter (which happened to be an oops litter as well)... It's just that the two other rabbits, which happen to be Spice's offspring, are now back to being called "it".

Well, later on in the day when I got home (I was away when the dead babies were found), the babies were gone and I figured that the mother -whoever she is- must've eaten them.

SO. Since I'm new to breeding (I'm not a breeder and I don't plan to become one... this is just one of those oops moments, and I dearly wish I could rewind time and prevent those deaths), and since it's very, very possible there could be another litter on the way (as I'm sure that there's only one male, meaning two possibly impregnated females) then I'm wondering if the presence of all three rabbits in one hutch will endanger another litter. I can't separate them tonight, because I don't have anywhere else to put them, but I'll be darned if I'm going to let another litter die. I mean, not like I want more rabbits, but I can't stand to see them die needlessly like that.

I'm sorry if I sound very much like a newb. I've only been a rabbit owner for two years, and I'm quite frustrated so far with the experience... even though I love them all dearly.

Thanks in advance!!

Oh my! That does sound frustrating.
Have you flipped them all over and taken a good look?
Your best bet would definitely be to separate all three. If one of the girls is pregnant, you don't want her in with other rabbits when she kindles (gives birth).