New to bunnies: my bunny won't come out of her cage

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tofubunny

Reaction score
So I recently just adopted a year old lion head bunny. I've had her for 3 days now and I have been patiently waiting her to make the first move and come out of her cage but she hasn't. :( is this normal? I've been laying down on the floor in front of her cage for 2 days now and nothing has really happened. I've also been giving her different leafy vegetables through the cage bars and through the door and she takes them but she has yet to venture outside the cage. I don't want to rush her or anything, but maybe some tips on how to make her more comfortable with me? First time bunny parent any tips would be welcome! Thanks!

I'm no expert but maybe she just needs some time :) some of my bunnies have taken a while to warm up to me.

I'm sure someone much more experienced here will come and give help and advice.

Good luck!

Hmmm.. What is your flooring like outside of the cage? Do you have carpet or hard flooring? Some bunnies won't walk on slippery hard floor surfaces like hardwood. Like mine (exasperated sigh). They are just chickens about it. So I have had to make islands of safety for them out of rugs. If that's not the issue, maybe some bribery with a treat is in order? What is the opening of the cage like? Can she walk right out or does she need to jump out? Maybe she's too shy to commit to jumping right out. I once had a cage where bunny had to jump out, so I put a pillow in front it and that made it easier. Lots of possibilities, tell us more about your setup..

if you have a standard plastic bottomed cage, you can cover the door with a piece of carpet. If you have slippery floor you can lay carpet down underneath it.

And/or it could simply be a matter of giving her time. Do things on her schedule.