New Bunny Questions!

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ShreddersMom

Reaction score
Hello, I need your help!

I am a new bunny owner. I got a rabbit from a couple who had purchased a pair of bunnies from an event 2 years ago for their kids. Their kids ended up getting bored with them and they were looking for good homes for the two rabbits. These rabbits have been together since they got them but are both un-neutered lop (mix?) males. The lady told me that taking one is better because while they will sometimes sit together she will often see them fighting and ripping fur out. I went to go see them and while they were both a bit skittish I ended up coming home with one.
They said the rabbits were litter trained so I decided to make him a free range rabbit. I am a student and I live in the basement of a student house. The first night that I brought him home I let him sit on a pillow the majority of the day. Then in the evening he warmed up and started hopping around, exploring and was okay with being picked up and held! He even used his litter box that night. Since the first night however things have changed. Now two days later this rabbit is very shy and does not hop around but sits in his house or in a corner without doing much. He doesn't seem to want cuddles or company but even when I give him space he doesn't move. He has a litter box, hay, pellets, treats, blankets, huts, beds and he just sits in one spot.

Is this because he misses his rabbit friend even though they fought? Is there anything I can do to make him more comfortable? I play relaxing music give a variety of treats and make sure he has cozy places to hide. How long until I should become concerned. I am pretty sure this is a behaviour issue and not because he is sick but of course, I am not a vet and I don't know.