Netherland Dwarf baby :)

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jen

Reaction score
Hi! I'mnew here. :) My name is Jen and I live inAlabama. I am driving 200 miles (!) to pick up my new9-week-old Netherland Dwarf baby this Saturday (she's a blackotter). This is my first bunny. I will be keepingher in the house and having her spayed when she's old enough.I am a 3rd year pre-vet student and I have lots of animals but Idecided I needed a bunny to sort of round things out.:) So, I have been reading everything I can get my handson. Also, I went to PetsMart and got some supplies:litterbox, litter, water bottle, timothy hay, mineral licks, chew toys,and food.

I do have a couple of questions. First about thefood. There are so many choices! I figure the onesthat are "pretty" are meant to appeal to the people. Sopellets are best? Any particular brand? Also, thekind I got is called Jr. Bunny and it's for 8 to 20 week oldbabies. Is this okay? Second abouthousing. As I said she will be staying in thehouse. I have a medium sized dog crate to keep her in as Iunderstand bunnies are worse than puppies about chewing. I dohave an 8'x8' pen so I can let her go outside some (I havebigdogs). And she will be free in the house whensupervised. Is this a happy life for a bunny? I ama student but I am home quite a bit.

Any help or advice is greatly appreciated! Thanks! :D

Welcome aboard Jen,