Hi, newbie here! 👋

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Miranda.m.davenport

Reaction score
Hello everyone! I just found this forum.

A little backstory...As a kid until my teen years, I had mainly dwarf rabbits (with the exception of one Flemish Giant). I started off with one given to my by my neighbor. (My neighbors boyfriend was an architect and built an amazing rabbit hutch that she gave me also.) She was a albino dwarf and I named her Jazmin. Soon after, I found her a mate from my local fair. He was also a little dwarf and he was a light grey. I named him Aladdin. Yeah, original, right? Lol 😆 Anyway, they had a few litters over the years. They lived in the same hutch but were kept separated by a barrier. The first litter was due to Aladdin somehow climbing over the barrier (wire mesh) and squeezing through the roof area. What a surprise! Anyway, that hutch was super sturdy and great for over wintering as it had built in heat lamps, etc. (And I fixed the spot he could climb over.)

Fast forward to 20+ years later and I am thinking of getting another bunny. I probably won't breed any this time around. I realize now, as an adult, there's a lot more to pedigrees now.

My and my husband are in the process of making our yard organic and phasing out any and all chemicals. Anyone have any recommendations on how long we should give the yard to basically turn organic? We were thinking about getting one next year or so.

In the mean time, I plan on researching hutches, care and all that good stuff.

If anyone has any recommendations on the best breed for temperament, housing, etc, I am all ears.

Thanks for allowing me to join!! 🐰 🐇