connected poo

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DustBun

Reaction score
I have a couple of questions I'm hoping have simple answers. My boy Dusty had an emergency involving a tooth spur that caused him to stop eating, develop an ulcer and have severe anemia. He was hospitalized for a week but has since made an amazing recovery. I almost lost him.

I adopted him about 6 months ago from a rescue knowing he had dental issues. His age is unknown but I'm beginning to think he is in his later years. I was told his front teeth were removed however, is it possible they could grow back? He seems to have a very sharp single tooth coming in in the front. Will this also need to be removed since the growth will again be unchecked?

Second question (forgive me - I'm new to bunny ownership): Because (I'm assuming) of his dental issues, Dusty does not eat ANY hay. I've tried every brand, type and size imaginable with no success. He is constantly grooming and sometimes his poo is strung together with fur. I'm afraid he's not getting enough roughage to keep his bowel clean and stasis is a concern. He eats pellets and gets 2 cups of chopped mixed greens a day and as much water as he likes. I even tried mixing some grasses in with his beloved greens but if i do that then he won't eat the greens :(

Third question: Dust Bunny's eyes run - the vet (whom I trust implicitly) said this is most likely from his continuing dental issues. Recently Dusty has been sneezing - nothing continuous, just one here and there and I've noticed a slight runny nose. It doesn't seem to be a white discharge but it is wet. Is this something to be concerned about and is there an at home remedy ? I will take him to the vet if need be but I'm still paying for his weeklong stay in a NYC exotic vet ($$$) and am anxious to try a little home love first. Thanks for any info you may have.