Bonding questions

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ljamos

Reaction score
Hi all, I have some questions about behaviors during introductory bonding sessions. This is my first time bonding bunnies, and I've done a lot of reading but have lots of questions about how my bunnies are doing. We have Trixie, a spayed female rabbit who used to have a rabbit companion in her previous home. Yesterday we met Oscar, a neutered boy who was in need of a new home and used to have a female companion in his old home. When his previous owner brought him over he was very scared of the new environment, so I let him become more comfortable before I had a short "date" in a completely neutral location (the bathroom) to see how they got along. There was no fighting, biting, etc. At first they were indifferent to each other, then they approached each other to sniff each other. After that, he did mount her several times; at first she would sit and not move but then she started running away whenever he would do it. Whenever he would mount her I let it go for a few seconds before I separated them; once she started running away I separated them as soon as she started running. She did mount him once towards the end of the first session; he ran away from her pretty quickly when she did that.