Aggressive bonding

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

PancakePeter

Reaction score
Hi all,

I am looking for some reassurance and advice on my rabbit bonding. This is my first time and I feel like it isnt going as well as every Youtube tutorial I have watched!

My rabbits:
Pancake is a 2.5yo female, spayed 6 months ago and we have had her for six months. We got her from a shelter, who got her from a hoarder house that had 60+ other rabbits. She weighs 5 lbs and is a domestic mix.

Pete is a 1.5yo male, neutered 4 weeks ago, and we have had him for two months. We rescued him from an acquiantence who didnt have time for him and was sending him to the shelter, so we took him instead. Pete is a 3.3lb netherland dwarf.

The rabbits first met about 2.5 weeks ago in a bathtub. Pancake immediately nipped Pete and ripped out a big clump of fur, so we separated them. We tried again a few hours later in a 2x2 pen on the tile floor and again, more hair pulling, always instigated by Pancake. The next day I tried again and this time Pancake laid down and Pete came and started licking her head. Unfortunately, he thin nipped or licked her eye too hard and she attacked him. I tried again a few hours later, and we were back to the nipping.