Your Rabbitry Goals

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

clarzoo

Reaction score
I thought I'd try to start a little discussion here.

• What short term goals do you have this year for your Rabbitry? (breeding and showing)
  • What long term goals do you have over the next few years for your Rabbitry?

Are you working on winning a specific award? Maybe you are trying to improve your favorite color in your breed? What about adding a new breed or variety to your barn- or even adding a new barn?

Let's hear it!! Please share what your goals are and your plan to achieve them.

:ponder:

I'll get the ball rolling.

Short term:

I plan on attending the ARBA convention and showing my rabbits. That has been a long term goal of mine that is now weeks away from becoming reality. Even though I've been showing rabbits for many years- me, my rabbits and the ARBA convention have never been able to meet up, lol!

Within the next few months I want to add a herd sire quality buck to my rabbitry out of different (but not too different!) bloodlines from what I have now. I need a buck with wide shoulders and thick ears with no ear control. Would like a dense but not cottony senior coat.

Long Term:

I hope to add about 4-5 cages to my rabbitry. Ideally, I'd like to be in my own house within the next few months. At that point I want a dedicated building for my rabbitry with the ability to have around 15-20 holes. Though I love hanging cages, I would deal with trays if it meant it were possible for me to have an A/C in my rabbitry. But that might be a bit unrealistic for the near future. (One can dream!)

I would love to someday breed a BIS fuzzy lop.

Here's my goals:

Short Term

Get a purebred Mini Rex breeding buck for my doe. This may be happening on this Thursday! (9/27/07)

Train my buck, Magic, some more in rabbit hopping.

Long Term