Worms!! :(

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Buture

Reaction score
I lifted my 1yo Netherland Dwarf up today to clean some soft poop that was stuck on the hairs around her butt and saw she has WORMS! They're white, thin and pretty much as big as a staple. I saw about 7. I naturally entered defense mode and started cleaning around there. She also has irritation around her butt, probably from the poop. Basically happened overnight. I put (not a lot) antibiotics (that i got from a vet, of course) in the worst parts after cleaning it well. I'm a college student and i can't really afford a vet right now (i've taken her twice for when she had some pink eye and another checkup and it's left a serious dent in my wallet), so is there anything i could do? Anything that i can feed her or that i can buy at Petsmart? I saw someone say they fed theirs some dog deworming medicine and it worked? Though other research say dogs and cats cant get the same type of worm as rabbits do. I'm still praying it won't get passed on to me from my rabbit. Though my rabbit acts normal, it's really painful to know this is going on. I just want to know if i can do something and if this is serious. :(

I know some vets will just weigh your rabbit and give you the meds, is that an option? Especially if they have seen you multiple times before, sometimes they will.

I would be very careful with any kind of home remedy (Ivermectin in a horse tube, for example, has been known to have some serious side effects on some rabbits), it can be done but I would not recommend it.

I would not recommend just getting a random dog dewormer either...

Yeah, i'm uncomfortable with giving it anything but the exact medicine. My only hope is to ask the vet that we went to if i can just buy the medicine, not pay the consultation fee. (80$)