what veggies do YOU feed??

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

amberelizabeth

Reaction score
Hi Guys!

I was curious what kind of veggies everyone feeds their buns? I have the lists and everything I was just wondering for fun. So far Layla has only tried Cilantro and Turnip Greens, she likes them both, but I'm going to the store tomorrow to look for different varieties.

So I was curious which kinds may be cheaper (I'm a poor college student :D) and I also look for ones I can incorporate in my own cooking.

I think if I have the names in front of me I'm not so overwhelmed when trying to choose a few.

fruits are fine, I just discovered that Layla LOVES apples, practically attacked me to get some! thanks guys!:)

Lettuce you can also make a salad and put some in your buns food bowl. I often do that with left over bites. Corn on the cob, you eat the corn and give the rest (the hard part) to Ms.Bun ( i think its a miss).

On any given day, I feed a mix of 3-4 types of vegetables. Here's a list of some of the vegetables they get on a regular basis:

• Parsley (a favorite of both Devon and Amber)
  • Cilantro
  • Romaine
  • Basil (Devon's favorite)
  • Mint (Amber's favorite)
  • Green peppers
  • Collard greens
  • Babby carrots (very special treat, they get maybe two or three per month)
I've found that parsley, mint, and basil grow very well outside. Since they are favorites of my two, growing my own really helps to keep costs down. Plus, basil and mint have plenty of uses in "human cooking":)

If youre trying to save money, you can check around for local farmers markets-veggies are usually very cheap and very fresh! Another idea is to buy in bulk from Sams or Costco. I buy their romaine lettuce and its so much cheaper.