Taking rabbit home on weekends

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

scubagirl68

Reaction score
Hi, I'm a University student and I have my ownapartment with a friend of mine. I have my rabbit at the apartment withme, but I bring it home with me on weekends. I bought 2 cages (one formy apartment, one for my other home) and I bring her in a carrier everyweekend. It's not a long drive (about 30 minutes) and I make sure thatshe's comfortable. Do you think that she will be alright/stress-freewith this arrangement? I'm hoping that she'll get used to it, and itwill become habitual. Any thoughts?

I think she should be fine, it probably will become a habit. It is certainly better than being left alone every weekend.

Bunnydude:cool:

i think that would be ok... i guess it dependson how your rabbits reacts to it.. some would probably mind it morethan others..peapoo for one likes riding in the car..she sits up inyour lap and looks around and out the windows and stuff...she alsotries to get down and explore under the seats and stuff

Pepper's the same way, he likes to put his pawson my chest and look around. He's even tried to climb on my shoulder,the dashboard, and the driver. Gaelyn doesnt handle car rides as well,she breathes hard, her nose/mouth get all wet, she clicks her teeth...poor girl.

I think it is best to keep her in a carrierwhile you are on the road. Put a blanket in there that she isused to and some hay to munch on. Just drive carefully andtalk to her on the way there and back.

I think it will be fine. She might bea bit stressed at first but it is surprising how quickly animals willsettle into a routine, I am sure she will get used to it.