Sweet buck aggressive to new owners

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

CopperRabbit

Reaction score
Hi all! I’ve been breeding Rex rabbits for meat and show for the last 2 years or so, but I am new here, so hi!

I am in need of some advice because I’m not sure what to do:

I just sold an 11 month old, proven buck to a new home that wants to use him for the same reason as I had him... show, breeding, etc. the new owners are homesteaders and have other rabbits. I had him his entire life and was able to carry him back and forth to his outside pen when the weather was nice, clean his cage up when needed, add food, etc. he really is a good boy.
However, about 2 days after going to his new home the mother messaged me and said that he had bitten her daughter when she opened the cage to pet him, and then the mother tried and he bit her, and then they said he was “lunging and shaking” sticks near/in his cage.... I was naturally horrified of his behavior because I never would’ve sold an aggressive buck. However, I am thinking that he is not settled in and probably super nervous if his new cage/environment and was defensive and but, and then when they kept antagonizing him he got even more amped up? Is this correct at all? I feel awful and I want to help the mew owners be able to work with him, so I told them to just leave him alone other than food and water and let him settle in.... that’s what I do with all of my new-to-me rabbits when I get them and I feel like it helps them calm down and settle in.
Any advice?