Surprise litter possible nursing issues

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi!
I have German French X angoras and we discovered a very surprise litter. Turns out one of our “does” is actually a buck. Because we were not expecting the litter we did not discover the litter until they were 10+ days old. (We had full nesting boxes available because it’s winter here and she hid them very very well) The 7 kits are thriving but today she seems to not want to nurse them. I’m not getting any milk out of her teats and a couple look a little sore. My concern is that she may have been bred again before we discovered the issue and isn’t producing milk anymore. (I tried palpating her like my vet showed me but I’m not very good at that) Her kits are lively and content. We THINK they are almost 3 weeks old and all are showing interest in water and Timothy hay. What do I need to be watching for and what do I need to do if she is indeed no longer nursing them? I’ll upload a pic of the kits from yesterday.

Attachments

• 587851BE-795F-464F-977C-DDF403286D82.jpeg
    587851BE-795F-464F-977C-DDF403286D82.jpeg
    70.8 KB · Views: 12
You'll need to make sure she isn't developing mastitis. If she does or you aren't sure, you'll want to contact your vet.

Or it could be the babies are getting a little rough with their nursing and she is wanting to wean them. It isn't ideal and would be better for them to continue to nurse til 6-8 weeks old, but not sure that you can do anything besides make sure they are eating hay and drinking water really well, and gradually start eating their moms pellets and other food as they get older. If she has stopped nursing completely and they aren't eating or drinking very well on their own, you'll likely need to supplement with a milk substitute right away.