Sore hocks?

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

peapoo_bunny

Reaction score
poor pea poo has what looks like sore hocks:(... she hasnt been on any wire,their litter is changed regularly and their nails are clipped regularly... what else can cause this? and whats the best way to treat it? peteys feet are fine

Has she been walking on any irregular surfaces(gravel or areas with multiple edges)? I'm no expert on this but I would imagine that if she was hopping on surfaces like I described that she might manifest signs of sore hocks. I would keep a closer watch on where she's going when she's out and about.

Hope this helps.

Blyre

no..she hasnt been on any surfaces like that...shes been on the bathroom tile (smooth)that shes always on... theres also several soft rugs in there for them

Wow thats so odd. :? Flopsy only got it when he got sick and his hocks were super sensitive and the wire bottom of his cage gave him sores. I know my veternearin gave me something to dab on twice a day and they healed up in 5 days.

Does she sit in her litter box alot? That's the only thing I can think of. Even if you clean it lots, she's still sitting in wet litter which can be a cause of sore hocks. I am also dealing with sore hocks but I think I managed to pin-point why. Maybe other members can help you find a solution to your problem.

Some buns get hocks from carpet, too.It is pretty abrasive to a bun's soft skin. It's not much of a worry as long as it's not getting really sore or bleeding but it is good to keep an eye on it. Bag Balm is supposed to be really good for sore hocks. I saw some in the pet section of Walmart the other day, or you could probably find it at farm/feed stores.

:shock:Carpet can give them sore hocks?! Wow, I did not know that.