Sexing 3/4 week old rabbits?

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Briana0666

Reaction score
I want to get a pair of baby rabbits from my grandmother. She didn't realize she had males and females and accidently had a litter. The mama had 4 babies and I was hoping to get two of the same gender but I'm not sure how to tell at this age? If I post some pictures could someone help me sex them? ^^" This is how big they are right now, is it too young to tell? Thank you.

545245_677698658909175_1498513434_n.jpg

You should be able to tell by 4 weeks. Have you tried watching YouTube videos to see if you can tell? I'm not that good at it but I know there are some here who are better at telling you.

It depends on your eye. I am able to tell by 3-4 weeks and be pretty darn accurate but it has taken me a couple of years and many litters for practice. By 5weeks it is much more obvious. Here is a YouTube video I like to share that helped me learn:

[ame]http://youtu.be/tKM6a7Ym6B0[/ame]

Sent from my iPhone using Rabbit Forum

Let me tell you: taco=girl, doughnut=boy. Post here for confirmation. There are some of us that can sex rabbits at a young age. I can also sex kittens at 3 to 4 weeks old.

Being able to sex them really depends on you. Some people can sex when the kits are a few days old and others can't until they are a couple months old. The parts are very similar, so it is easy to get mixed up and even the best sometimes make mistakes.
There are some good resources and a few have already been posted. Take a look at those, then compare them to the babies. It can be helpful to have references right there when you are looking. It is a good idea to sex them again before you take any just to be sure. A second opinion doesn't hurt either.