Seizure/sudden death in rabbit, help?

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

eatingabook

Reaction score
Hello,
This morning I found that my new rabbit had passed away. I have only had him for about a month or so. I am new to owning rabbits so I couldn't tell you what kind he was, he was all black with fairly short hair and ears that pointed up (instead of the floppy ones). He was absolutely fine last night when I saw him last, he ate and drank normally and was as active as ever, totally fine. I went to bed earlier than my boyfriend, whom I live with, and he said that around 2 in the morning, the bunny was making a lot of noise/jumping around (in his words, "freaking out") but he didn't check on him. And this morning when I went to feed him and change his water, he was dead.

I've been reading a lot of things online but nothing seems to fit the circumstances totally, except maybe an unexpected seizure, although I can't find a reason for it. I would just like to know what happened if anyone has any ideas because I am very upset and want to know if I did anything wrong or if I should have done anything differently.

Every day I would feed him timothy hay, small amounts of rabbit pellet food, and romaine lettuce (some days he would get more veggies, mostly carrots). There were no other rabbits with him or near him, nor any other pets that could get to him and there are no bugs in the cage or entire room for that matter, not that I have seen. I clean his home once a week or more if it looks like it needs it.