Recently spayed bun still not pooping 3 days after surgery

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jenna Staats

Reaction score
Hello,
This is my first time posting on the forums. I’ve used the forums a lot for bunny help, thanks for that. I’ve recently had my two buns spayed, on February 10th. They are both approaching 2yrs old and are bonded. One is a Holland lop and the other a mixed breed. They are both dwarf rabbits weighing 4.6 to 4.7 pounds (probably less now). I thought the post spay care wouldn’t be as arduous as it has been. Boy was I wrong. Soo I brought them home after spaying on the 10th and they were out of it. Doc gave them shots of buprenorphine and meloxicam for pain- nothing to take home. Told me to make sure they eat and poop. That’s been the problem. Bunz, my Holland lop finally pooped yesterday after syringe feeding critical care and liquids. She is now eating and pooping , and it’s getting better as time goes. It’s my other one I’m worried about. Baby rabbit, she’s not eating, or pooping. However she is peeing. I’ve been giving her critical care and liquids by syringe also. I thought maybe she wasn’t pooping due to being in pain and called the doc who said she doesn’t think rabbits do good on pain relievers and to just use a warm compress for pain. Which I am and it’s not helping her eat or poop. She is grooming herself here and there but other than that she just sits in the corner. Idk if it’s a good idea to keep feeding her critical care if she’s not expelling. Does anybody have any suggestions on what I can do to get her going? I’m really worried about her. Thanks in advance.