Puzzled by colour of offspring

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Sabine

Reaction score
I have been breeding with Siamese sable/smoke lines for a few years and recently introduced a Himalayan buck to the equation. The sable/smoke lines are from show breeding stock and always produced consistent result as regards colour. Unfortunately I don't know an awful lot a bout the pedigree of the Himalayan buck but bred to my two light smoke does the offspring was either Himalayan or light smoke. Sometimes the smokes would be a bit strangely coloured with a lot of white under their belly.
As it turns out one of these smokes went to a person who bred him to a sable doe that stems from the "pure" lines and the outcome is this:
http://www.donedeal.ie/smallfuries-for-sale/pure-breed-netherland-dwarf-rabbits/9405016?offset=1
The seller claims one of the offspring is black otter and I admit there is a resemblance but is that genetically possible? I can't figure out what else it could be though. Could someone enlighten me as I would love to know what the background of my Himalayan buck is.

So the babies aren't actually what the seller says they are.

The second photo shows it very well but that baby is a Sable marten. You can see the brown markings/shading. Otters most significantly have an orange triangle on the nape of their neck and lacing as well. This baby is white in the tan pattern which makes it a marten.

I also notice ear lacing and tan pattern markings on the himi baby Seen in the fourth photo. This mebabyans that it is actually a himi marten and is not showable

It looks like your himi is most certainly carrying marten and pretty predominantly it seems. Bad for any himi babies that come out because they will probably have the ear lacing and such

This website might actually help alot!
http://www.angelfire.com/mi4/bunnyrun/COLOR.html

Last edited: