Please give your opinion on bonded/bonding pair behavior!

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Zeddy

Reaction score
Hey there!

In December last year, I adopted my first ever bunny; a 1 year old, Netherland dwarf mix, neutered male from a shelter. His name is Zed. I was originally going to keep him as a single bunny for a few years, as I'm studying online and therefore am home the majority of the day, every day.
But after having him for a few months, I found that he doesn't really benefit from human interaction as much as I'd hoped - So I started looking around for a friend for him.

Last month I went and adopted a 7 month old, Netherland dwarf mix female - spayed. I named her Zoe. She was extremely cage-aggressive, but the shelter assured me this was just due to her small living space - and as my buns free-roam my bedroom, and part of the hallway during the day, it was assumed that the aggression would go away once she had more space to roam on. (which turned out to be incorrect, haha).

I started letting them meet in a neutral area, after about a week of living side by side (but without being able to touch), and the first week and a half of bonding, was a nightmare. They fought constantly - Zoe hated all of us, and would do nothing but lunge and growl. Zed got annoyed with her behavior and started biting her as well.
But I stayed persistent and kept following all the advice I could gather online - and finally we had a breakthrough, when Zoe started grooming Zed doing a bonding session.
After that I started letting them spend more and more time together, and once they had spent 2 full nights together without getting into fights (there was 1 incident with some fur-pulling, but it didn't escalate from there), I decided it was time to move them into their bigger, and more permanent space.