Pencils, Ritz crackers and wet newspaper

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

LuvMyRabbits

Reaction score
Hello everyone..Hope you all & your rabbits have been well since my last posting..:biggrin2:I have a few questions today and since I'm new to the whole rabbit owner thing and I thought who better to ask than all the friendly folks on this site! Please dont laugh at my lack of rabbit skill...ok so here goes..My rabbits are obsessed with pencils..I have 3 boys so there are pencils laying randomly around my house at all times..the rabbits love love love to find them and chew them..thus far I have taken the pencils away everytime I have seen them chewing on one..because I dont think the graphite could be good for them to eat if they get into the center of it..So thats my first question..is it ok to let them chew on the pencils since they are wood?? Ok my 2nd question has to do with their other obsession...Ritz crackers..I was eating lunch soup and crackers got up to do something came back and the pack of crackers had been stolen by the rabbits and they both were eating away at them in the closet..I took them away from them and they didnt get sick or anything..but now they know everytime I have the crackers around they can smell them I guess and they go wild jumping up on the bed trying to crawl over anything in their way to get at the crackers..so 2nd question is it ok to let them have one occasionally?? And last but not least my 3rd question has to do with something that silly Spirit is doing recently..I have newspaper lining the bottom of their cages and they have a water bowl in there with them ( I found that with the water bottles they were leaking into the cage all night and getting everything wet and I was wasting alot of the bedding I use for them which is not cheap so I invested in chew proof bowls that hook on the side of their cages )