OMG Ginger has died!!

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bunny Mum

Reaction score
Our doe (dwarflop)who gave birth yesterday to 6 healthy kits has died over night. We are devastated.How did this happen she seemed well yesterday no bleeding was eating,drinking? How do we keep the kits alive?? I am so sad.........

OMG I am so sorry to hear this!
:tears2:

Well I am not an expert or anything but I would make sure the babies stay in the nest so they stay warm, and get some KMR *kitten Replacer Milk* and try to make sure the babies stay well fed and warm and clean, and to make sure and wipe their lil tushies to stimulate peeing and pooping.

In the mean time, you may want to see if there is another mum somewhere that can take the babies in, to rear as bun raising is rather difficult sometimes.

Good luck!

Thank you all advice is very welcome. I wonder what the success rate is for hand rearing? How many times a day do i feed them. Oh boy this is daunting but even if I can save one !:tears2:

I'll wait for Randy to tell you the best formula to use -- that's the tricky part -- but they only should get it I think twice a day at most.

sas :clover:

PS: I don't think the kitten formula is the best one, so hold off on that and hang tough for a few minutes.

I tend to over feed my hand reared animals :embarrassed:

But I would say check on them every two hours at least, and make sure they are warm *maybe place a heating pad over/under half the nest to ensure warmth,* and clean them, try to feed them just a lil bit then too.

Me personally I offer food to new babies every hour until they are older when I start to move to every hour and a half, then every 2 and so on.

I know alot of people that have a high success rate:D, others not so well. :(

Yeah I have heard people saying Kitten replacer milk until another formula can be used, as the puppy is bad.