Newborn not peeing/pooping after eating

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Kristen

Reaction score
So long story short, I have 2 holland lops, kept in separate rooms, male got out and got female pregnant, I didn't know until I stepped on the nest (rip 4 bun buns- 1 was clearly lost before that). I have 1 still fighting.
Now to my problem. I took baby and mommy to the vet yesterday and they both looked good. I was told to supliment with kmr and how to stimulate after feeding. I should mention that while they moved the baby's legs around it peeing on the vet. The last 2 feedings the baby ate all if not most of the milk, but I've failed to get it to pee or poop. I just spent about 10 minutes trying, but the baby was more interested in burrowing to sleep. Any tips? It's my first time caring for a baby.

If it's still with mom, it could be mom has already stimulated it and cleaned it off. If it's not with mom, maybe try stimulating it a little later after the feeding. If might just not be ready to yet.

This link also has some good tips for caring for baby buns and what to expect.
http://flashsplace.webs.com/accidentallitters.htm

If it's still with mom, it could be mom has already stimulated it and cleaned it off. If it's not with mom, maybe try stimulating it a little later after the feeding. If might just not be ready to yet.

This link also has some good tips for caring for baby buns and what to expect.
http://flashsplace.webs.com/accidentallitters.htm
Thank you! The vet encouraged us to monitor when the baby is with mom, as it's her first litter and she's already caused an injury. So I've been watching like a hawk, momma bun has had little to no interaction with the baby since our vet visit. She's more interested in trying to get out to the other room where my male is.